Bookiness – Rhett Butler’s People (2007) by Donald McCaig

Rhett Butler's PeopleRhett Butler’s People by Donald McCaig

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Because I can’t count Gone With The Wind in the Insatiable Bookslut’s 2012 End of the World Challenge, as I’ve read it four times and watched the film somewhere upwards of 70, I thought I’d tackle Rhett and Scarlett from a different perspective, but not that crap Scarlett to which my grandmother subjected me at the tender age of ten. Grandma, I don’t know why you had that book, why you kept it, or how I somehow inherited it. It stank.

This sequel, however, was pretty damn good.

Great linkages with Mitchell’s master-plot, and wonderful characterizations of people like Tazewell Watling, Rosemary Butler and Tunis Bonneau helped to make this interpretation of Tara really stand on its own two feet. I think it also helped immensely that McCaig had written about the War of Northern Agression Civil War previously, because the details were rich and believable.

There was no need, however, to turn Tara into Manderley. That was just plain mean. But, unlike Alexandra Ripley’s trash, this is one sequel that I am not about to recycle in next week’s grey box.

View all my reviews
Creative Commons Licence
Midatlantic Musings by Jane G. V. McGaughey is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

About midatlanticmusings

Historian of the Irish Diaspora and masculinities, wife, mother, lover of good books, red wine, fine whiskies, pop culture aficionado, and Star Wars wonk.
This entry was posted in Book Recs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

