Bookiness – Black Venus (1980) by Angela Carter

Black Venus's TaleBlack Venus’s Tale by Angela Carter

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I adore Carter’s The Bloody Chamber, and Black Venus has been sitting on my book shelf unread for nearly two years; something had to be done. As with nearly all short stories I read, it was a bit hit-and-miss in terms of holding my interest. I think I would have appreciated the tale of Baudelaire’s mistress if I had read any more Baudelaire before. The different take on “Peter and the Wolf” was fun, and highly reminiscent of “The Company of Wolves”, while the set-up to Lizzie Borden’s forty whacks was thought-provoking, if nothing else. If I had to choose between the two sets of stories, there’s really no contents: The Bloody Chamber strikes many more archetypal notes for me. Still, reading any of Carter’s prose is, for me, a joy. I hope to get through her Book of Fairy Tales before high summer sets in…

View all my reviews

Creative Commons Licence
Midatlantic Musings by Jane G. V. McGaughey is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported

About midatlanticmusings

Historian of the Irish Diaspora and masculinities, wife, mother, lover of good books, red wine, fine whiskies, pop culture aficionado, and Star Wars wonk.
This entry was posted in Book Recs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

